One Month Experiment update

Okay, so this hasn’t been the most seamless experiment ever. Christmas in Jamaica is a time of drinking, drinking, partying, eating, drink and more partying. This doesn’t leave the best room for studying. Though I have been doing regular anki revisions, I’m not super gung-ho about it. I don’t believe i’ve completely lost my passion for learning Japanese, I find that i’m not worrying much about failure versus sucess.

For example, my Japanese friend is in Jamaica now and we’ve had a conversation or two in Japanese, but i don’t find myself super curious, super excited or amped to be speaking Japanese. If we talk in Japanese it happens. But i’m going to get an evaluation on where i am with Japanese and some tips to go forward. I also ran into some Japanese ladies at the supermarket recently and chatted to them mostly in Japanese as well.

I want to get the language but i’m coasting now. Maybe after almost a year of not being in Japan, the urgency to speak it constantly has left me. But this doesn’t mean I don’t want to speak Japanese. Like I said, this is an experiment. I’m going to be doing some conversation classes and seeing how I feel mentally about getting into the groove and the future of my Japanese learning, Japan, and more.

cheers

About marcusbird

Writer, Designer, Filmmaker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

