What is the Sentence Phase?

After realizing i’ve been having a sort of bad spell here in Japan, it has somewhat impeded my studied. I’m at 400 Kanji now, and I haven’t been learning many new ones each day over hte last week or so. A lot of external pressures have made studying very stressufl. But I do Mnemosyne reviews every day, so I solidly know pretty much all of the 400 Kanji I’ve studied thus far.

Either way, I’ve goen throuhg a bazillion posts on the AJATT site and I have NO IDEA how the Sentence phase works. This is my only gripe with the AJATT site. It has a veritable deluge of information about motivation, why the methods work, conversations and theories on grammer and immersion, but no simple explanation of how the process works. I can’t even find a sample of what an SRS “sentence mine” looks like.

I’m assuming after you learn the 2,000 Kanji, you start reading sentences as compounds, then deriving the meanings through your Heisig knowledge. I don’t get it. Some people say right after learning the Kanji they start reading Death Note. How? This is where I am confused. Unlesss you are learning through inference.

I’m trying to contact Khatzumoto (creator of the AJATT method) to see what he can tell me. Hopefully I’ll get some help on the issue.

About marcusbird

Writer, Designer, Filmmaker
This entry was posted in AJATT, Heisig Method, language, learning Japanese, Remembering the Kanji, RTK1 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What is the Sentence Phase?

    • marcusbird says:

      Hey thanks for that. I posted that in real time when I was trying to absorb all the information on the site, which is tons and tons. I will post your information. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

